Skip to main content


Traditional Pathway

Technicians that choose the traditional NATE certification pathway will take two exams – the 50-question NATE Core exam and a 100-question Specialty exam.

The Core exam tests a candidate’s general knowledge, construction knowledge, and HVACR specific knowledge in the areas of:

  • Safety
  • Tools
  • Basic Construction
  • Using Basic Science
  • Achieving Desired Conditions
  • Taking Temperature and Humidity Measurements
  • Basic Electrical

Click here to view the Knowledge Areas of Technician Expertise (KATEs) for the Core Exam.

NATE offers multiple Specialty exams for technicians to choose from, and technicians will earn an Installation, Service, or Senior certification specialization depending on the exam the completed.

Click on the link below to view the KATEs for each of the NATE Specialty Exams: