Skip to main content


Industry Competency Exams (ICE)

The Industry Competency Exams, formerly the ARI/GAMA Competency Exams, are administered by NATE. The exams measure industry-agreed standards of basic competency for entry-level (one year or less) technicians. More than 300 schools nationwide require student participation in at least one of the Industry Competency Exams to graduate. If you are interested in taking the exam, please speak with your school’s instructors to see if they are able to offer the exams or are interested in becoming ICE Proctors. If you have already taken the exam, you can view your results online.

For paper exams, you can login at  by using your existing username/password or creating a new one with the activation code you receive by email.

For online exams, you can login here, and click the check results. The username and password will be the same as you used for testing.

To earn a Residential ICE Certification, a technician would need to pass the Core section and at least one specialty section. The Light Commerical HVAC exam and the Commercial Refrigeration exam do not require the Core exam, and are not divided into specialty sections.

Content Areas

Below are the content areas covered by each exam:

Residential: (includes Core and one or more specialties)

  • Safety, Tools, Soft Skills
  • Heat Transfer & Comfort
  • Electrical
Specialty Sections (Air Conditioning, Air Distribution, Heat Pumps, Gas Furnaces, Oil Furnaces)
  • Installation
  • Service
  • Components
  • Applied Knowledge

Light Commercial A/C and Heating:

  • Start-up Heating
  • Start-up A/C
  • Service Heating
  • Refrigerant Recovery
  • Installation

Commercial Refrigeration:

  • System Design
  • Installation Start-up
  • Preventive Maintenance
  • Service & Repair